About CP

Console-ing Passions was founded in 1989 by a group of feminist media scholars and artists looking to create a space to present work and foster scholarship on issues of television, culture, and identity, with an emphasis on gender and sexuality. The original board included Julie D’Acci, Jane Feuer, Mary Beth Haralovich, Lauren Rabinowitz, and Lynn Spigel. Console-ing Passions is not a membership organization, but is instead comprised of a board of scholars whose interests converge around the study of media. The first Console-ing Passions conference was held at the  University of Iowa in 1992.

CP BOARD (Current Members)

Mary Beltran, University of Texas at Austin
Jackie Cook, University of South Australia
Mary Desjardins, Dartmouth College
Anna Everett, University of California Santa Barbara
Jane Feuer, University of Pittsburgh
Joy V. Fuqua, Queens College, CUNY
Mary Beth Haralovich, University of Arizona
Heather Hendershot, Queens College and CUNY Graduate Center
Michele Hilmes, University of Wisconsin, Madison
Lynne Joyrich, Brown University
Mary Celeste Kearney, University of Texas at Austin
Elana Levine, University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee
Vicki Mayer, Tulane University
Margaret Montgomerie, De Montfort University
Lisa Nakamura, University of Illinois, Urbana
Diane Negra, University College Dublin
Lisa Parks, University of California Santa Barbara
Priscilla Pena-Ovalle, University of Oregon
Carol Stabile, University of Oregon
Mimi White, Northwestern University


  • 2011, University of Adelaide (Jackie Cook)
  • 2010, University of Oregon (Priscilla Peña Ovalle and Carol Stabile)
  • 2008, University of California Santa Barbara (Anna Everett and Lisa Parks)
  • 2006, University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee (Elana Levine and Carol Stabile)
  • 2004, Tulane University (Joy Fuqua and Vicki Mayer)
  • 2001, University of Bristol (Janet Thumim)
  • 2000, Notre Dame University (Hillary Radner)
  • 1998, University of Sydney (Virginia Nightingale)
  • 1997, Concordia University (Chantal Nadeau)
  • 1996, University of Wisconsin, Madison (Julie D’Acci)
  • 1995, University of Washington (Susan Jeffords)
  • 1994, University of Arizona (Mary Beth Haralovich)
  • 1993, University of Southern California (Lynn Spigel)
  • 1992, University of Iowa (Lauren Rabinovitz)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published / Required fields are marked *